Level 3 Apprenticeship Standard: Early Years Educator (EYE)

NCFE CACHE Level 3 diploma for the Early Years Educator


Delivery: Delivered over 13 months (plus) up to 3 months for End Point Assessment (EPA) completion

Delivery method:

  • Underpinning knowledge delivered through Interactive classroom sessions, 8 teaching days with your
  • Your dedicated assessor will visit you in your education setting, supporting development using a mixture of assessment methods, including professional discussions, observations, product evidence and reflective accounts
  • Unit accreditation and KSB’s (Knowledge, Skills and Behaviours), these KSB’s have been agreed by sector professionals to ensure all learners on the qualification are of the highest standard.
  • Regular Progress reviews
  • End point assessment: interview and multiple choice online exam


Role profile

Higher level childcare practitioners within the childcare industry are highly skilled and competent individuals, who prioritise a whole child approach in all aspects of their role. Practitioners will use theoretical perspectives to influence practices and will be responsible for their own key group of children.

Higher level childcare practitioners will be expected to;

  • Understand, follow and use various legislations relating to all aspects of the care sector, including safeguarding
  • To be able to support children and young people through various transitions
  • To be able to observe, assess and promote development
  • Confidently support emergent literacy and mathematical skills
  • Lead, play and review learning and play opportunities which support learning and development
  • Follow partnership working practices
  • Be reflective practitioners and highlight necessary knowledge, skills and behaviours within their own working practices.

Typical Job Roles

  • practitioner in day nurseries
  • practitioner in nursery schools
  • practitioner in reception classes in primary schools
  • pre-school worker


NCFE CACHE Level 3 Diploma for the Early Years Educator

Level 3 EYE apprentices are required to complete a range of assessment methods to assess their workplace knowledge and competence. Within their main portfolio, apprentices will complete knowledge assignments and competence assessments, including the completion of a comprehensive longitudinal study influenced by theoretical perspectives.

Theme 1: Health and Well-being
  • Support Healthy Lifestyles for children through the provision of food and nutrition
  • Support healthy lifestyles for children through exercise
  • Support Children’s physical care routine
  • Promote the emotional well-being of children
  • Understand how to support children who are unwell


Theme 2: Legislation, frameworks and professional practice
  • Follow legislation relating to equality, diversity and inclusive practice
  • Working in partnership
  • Engage in professional development


Theme 3: Play, development and learning for school readiness
  • Understand the value play in early years
  • Play, lead and review play opportunities which support children’s learning and development
  • Promote enabling play environments Developing children’s emergent literacy skills
  • Developing children’s emergent mathematical skills
  • Support children’s transitions to school
  • Develop children’s cognitive skills
  • Promote children’s speech, language and communication
  • Promote children’s physical development
  • Promoting children’s personal, social and emotional development
  • Support children with additional needs
  • Use observation, assessment and planning to promote the development of children
  • Use longitudinal studies to observe, assess and plan for children’s needs




EPA Portfolio

Apprentices are also required to complete a portfolio showcasing their knowledge, skills and behaviours. This portfolio will be used to showcase the apprentice’s knowledge skills and behaviours for their end point assessment. This should include evidence of understanding of:

  • The expected patterns of children’s development from birth to 5 years and have an understanding of further development from age 5 to 7.
  • The significance of attachment and how to promote it effectively.
  • A range of underpinning theories and philosophical approaches to how children learn and develop, and their influence on practice.
  • How children’s learning and development can be affected by their stage of development and individual circumstances such as moving school, birth of a sibling, family breakdown and adoption and care
  • The importance of promoting diversity, equality and inclusion, fully reflecting cultural differences and family circumstances.
  • The importance to children’s holistic development of: speech, language and communication, personal, social and emotional development and physical development
  • Systematic synthetic phonics in the teaching of reading, and a range of strategies for developing early literacy and mathematics.
  • The potential effects of, and how to prepare and support children through, transitions and significant events in their lives.
  • The current early education curriculum requirements such as the Early Years Foundation Stage.
  • when a child is in need of additional support such as where a child’s progress is less than expected. how to assess within the current early education curriculum framework using a range of assessment techniques such as practitioners observing children through their day to day interactions and observations shared by parents and/ or carers.
  • the importance of undertaking continued professional development to improve own skills and early years practice.
  • the legal requirements and guidance on health and safety, security, confidentiality of information, safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children.
  • why health and well-being is important for babies and children
  • how to respond to accidents, injuries and emergency situations.
  • safeguarding policies and procedures, including child protection, recognise when a child is in danger or at risk of abuse, and know how to act to protect them. Types of abuse include domestic, neglect, physical, emotional and sexual.
  • how to prevent and control infection through ways such as handwashing, food hygiene practices and dealing with spillages safely.

Learning enhancements: Leaping Man Learning – Swift Apprentices will also be provided the opportunity to enhance their skills including the NCFE CACHE Level 3 award in paediatric first aid, Employee rights and responsibilities and support with Functional Skills Maths and English up to Level 2.

Leaping Man Learning - Swift qualifications are accredited by NCFE CACHE, the UK’s leading sector specialists for the care and education industry.